Angebote zu "Characterization" (5 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops

Dead Girl Blues (eBook, ePUB)
8,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

DEAD GIRL BLUES"It's been a long time since I read anything this hard-hitting and thought-provoking. DEAD GIRL BLUES is daringly original, both shocking and brilliantly told. At a time when many crime novels blend together, Grandmaster Lawrence Block again shows he's a one-of-a-kind author. " ~ David Morrell, New York Times bestselling author of Murder As a Fine Art You might as well know this going in: Lawrence Block's new novel is not for everyone. It's recounted in journal form by its protagonist, and begins when he walks into a roadhouse outside of Bakersfield, California, and walks out with a woman.And rapes and murders her.But, um, not in that order.Right. But it's what he does with the rest of his life that's really interesting… Lawrence Block has been writing and publishing crime fiction for sixty years. He's received recognition for lifetime achievement in the US and the UK. His books have won awards and occasionally show up on bestseller lists. Several of them have been fimed.Here's what he's said about DEAD GIRL BLUES:"I don't think it's terribly commercial. And there are elements that will put off a lot of readers."But, see, Dead Girl Blues doesn't owe me a thing. I hadn't planned to write it, so it doesn't have to bring in money to justify the time I spent on it. The book is its own justification. I'll publish it myself, on my 82nd birthday, and all of y'all can buy it or not buy it, read it or not read it, and like it or not like it."I've shown it to some friends whose opinions I trust, and they told me that Dead Girl Blues is one of the very best things I've ever written. And then they added that they could see where it might have problems."So I read it again last week, and I realized DGB was exactly the book I wanted it to be. And how often does that happen? And what more could an old man possibly ask for?" "Dark and cold as the far side of the moon, but with prose as lean as a starving model, DEAD GIRL BLUES is like the dead body you can't help but look at. Sharp writing, characterization that comes right out of the reptilian brain, creepy crawly identification with the narrator that makes you squirm. I couldn't quit reading, and damn sure didn't want to. An honest look at the mind of someone of a cheerfully anti-social mindset, who just might frighteningly remind us of humanities flip-side and our universal connection to it. A grim masterpiece of storytelling." ~ Joe R. Lansdale "DEAD GIRL BLUES still claws at me. It's a time-release dread capsule that locked me in someone's shoes and made my gut twist all along the ride. Those of us who enjoy his work have seen him pull that off and marvel at how he manages it with seeming effortlessness. But this one. Maybe his best book, and that's saying something." ~Tom Straw "This is an astonishing novel, the most profound examination and evisceration of identity which I have encountered in decades. A stunning and terminally unsettling work, written in a style so accessible, so controlled, so utterly reasonable, that the reader as witness can only fall and fall into the cauldron of memory into some alteration neither ordained nor random but a terrible fusion of both." ~Barry N. Malzberg

Anbieter: buecher
Stand: 04.07.2020
Zum Angebot
PCR based molecular identification of a begomov...
49,00 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The virus, Observe the virus, think how small, its arsenal, and yet how loud it call, It took my cell, now takes your cell, when it leaves will take our genes as well Genes that are master keys to growth, that turn it on, or turn it off or both, Should it return to me or you, it will own the skeleton keys to do, A number on our tumblers, stage a coup. Viruses are a unique group of infectious agents whose distinctiveness resides in their simple, acellular organization and pattern of reproduction. Despite their simplicity in comparison with cellular organization, viruses are extremely important and deserving of close attention. The study of viruses has contributed significantly to the discipline of molecular biology-virology. This project focuses on the broader aspect of virology: the general properties & deals with characterization of virus, the ways in which viruses are cultured and studied. My project deals with PCR based molecular identification of a begomovirus associated with yellow vein net disease of Amaranths .

Anbieter: Dodax
Stand: 04.07.2020
Zum Angebot
Summer of the Dead (Bell Elkins, Book 3)
4,50 CHF *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

As the heat rises, they must face the danger to come... Julia Keller brings us Summer of the Dead, the third novel to feature the intrepid Bell Elkins. Perfect for fans of Dennis Lehane and Henning Mankell. 'A suspenseful, superbly executed plot that displays a depth rarely seen in mystery fiction' - Booklist The first death came unexpectedly. An old man attacked outside his home, his murder a shock to the town. Then the second death came and with it fear. For Raythune County's prosecuting attorney Bell Elkins, the inexplicable killings in Acker's Gap are all she can think about. Everything - the oppressive summer heat, her absent daughter, her troublesome sister - fades into the background as she tries to work out who is responsible. As tensions escalate, and suspects begin to emerge, Bell will have to face demons from her own past as she comes head-to-head with a killer bent on destroying all those who stand in their way... What readers are saying about Julia Keller: 'Keller astounds me with her characterization, beautiful descriptions and absorbing plots' 'A compelling read' 'Five stars'

Anbieter: Orell Fuessli CH
Stand: 04.07.2020
Zum Angebot
Summer of the Dead (Bell Elkins, Book 3)
3,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

As the heat rises, they must face the danger to come... Julia Keller brings us Summer of the Dead, the third novel to feature the intrepid Bell Elkins. Perfect for fans of Dennis Lehane and Henning Mankell. 'A suspenseful, superbly executed plot that displays a depth rarely seen in mystery fiction' - Booklist The first death came unexpectedly. An old man attacked outside his home, his murder a shock to the town. Then the second death came and with it fear. For Raythune County's prosecuting attorney Bell Elkins, the inexplicable killings in Acker's Gap are all she can think about. Everything - the oppressive summer heat, her absent daughter, her troublesome sister - fades into the background as she tries to work out who is responsible. As tensions escalate, and suspects begin to emerge, Bell will have to face demons from her own past as she comes head-to-head with a killer bent on destroying all those who stand in their way... What readers are saying about Julia Keller: 'Keller astounds me with her characterization, beautiful descriptions and absorbing plots' 'A compelling read' 'Five stars'

Anbieter: Thalia AT
Stand: 04.07.2020
Zum Angebot